Thursday, October 16, 2014

Passepied (パスピエ) in English!

October 22 will see the release of Japanese band and Radio Dupree favourite Passepied (パスピエ) in English.

Formed back in 2009 at the Tokyo university and with a couple of successful albums in Japan it is seems like it is time for the band to expand and release an EP of five tracks in English.

1 MATATABISTEP (English ver.)
2 Tow-Ryang-Say (English ver.)
3 Tokyo City Underground (English ver.)
4 The Meditation( English ver.)
5 MATATABISTEP (English ver.)- Seiho Remix

Here's the video for Tokyo City Underground:

Thursday, October 09, 2014

David Gilmour: The new album will be our last

Pink Floyd member David Gilmour tells BBC that he is "pretty certain" the band's upcoming The Endless River will be their final album.

Read more here

Sunday, October 05, 2014

Brecker Brothers Reunion live on Swedish radio today

Live from the concert in Stockholm on July 14 this summer. On Sveriges Radio P2 17.00 (5 PM) local time.

The band: Randy Brecker, Ada Rovatti, Barry Finnerty, Neil Jason and Terry Bozzio!

Wednesday, October 01, 2014

Radio Dupree Top 30 - October 2014

1. David Bowie - Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing (reprise)
Diamond Dogs

2. King Crimson - Cadence and Cascade
In the Wake of Poseidon

3. The Rolling Stones - Sympathy for the Devil
Beggars Banquet

4. Johnny Winter - Stray Cat Blues
Saints & Sinners

5. Jimi Hendrix - Easy Blues
Nine to the Universe

6. The Tubes - The Monkey Time
Outside Inside

7. Kate Bush - An Architect's Dream

8.  David Bowie - Memory of a Free Festival (bonus track)
Space Oddity [Vinyl]

9.  King Crimson - Moonchild
In The Court Of The Crimson King

10. Lulu - The Man Who Sold The World
The Man Who Sold The World

11. Kate Bush - Experiment IV - Kate Bush: All the Singles
12. The Blues Brothers - Minnie the Moocher - The Blues Brothers: Original Soundtrack Recording
13. Jethro Tull - Locomotive Breath - Living In The Past
14. Rickie Lee Jones - The Real End - The Magazine [Vinyl]
15. King Crimson - Improv - Tight Scrummy (edit) - The Great Deceiver
16. The Beatles - All I've Got To Do - With The Beatles
17. Wishbone Ash - Silver Shoes - There's the Rub
18. Pat Travers, Jimmy Greenspoon, Scott Connor - The End - Light My Fire: A Classic Rock Salute to The Doors
19. Jethro Tull - Witches Promise - Living In The Past
20. Led Zeppelin - Rock And Roll - Led Zeppelin IV (aka ZOSO)
21. Ringo Starr - Photograph - Ringo
22. Jethro Tull - Dr. Bogenbroom - Living in the Past
23. King Crimson - Easy Money - Larks' Tongues in Aspic
24. The Beatles - I'm A Loser - Live at the BBC
25. The Beatles - Across the Universe - 1967-70
26. King Crimson - Improv - A Voyage To The Centre Of The Cosmos - The Great Deceiver Part 1
27. Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Shadow People - Hypnotic Eye
28. Pink Floyd - Fearless - Meddle
29. Jimi Hendrix - Electric Ladyland - Electric Ladyland
30. The Beatles - From Me to You - 1962-1966 (Red)
Chart compiled by listeners voting
on the songs they hear on Radio Dupree

Friday, September 26, 2014

Bob Dylan's The Basement Tapes Complete coming this November

The legendary and much bootlegged Basement Tapes that Bob Dylan recorded with The Band in 1967 will finally get an official release November 2014.

The description promises a 6-disc set including 138 tracks compiled from meticulously restored original tapes. A 120 page deluxe-bound book containing rare and unseen photographs and memorabilia plus extensive liner notes.

Looks like the perfect XMas gift for those that got the 47 disc Complete Album Collection Vol. 1 last year.

Donald Fagen inducted into Shalom Life's Jewish Hall Of Fame

Shalom Life descibes itself as "Canada's largest independent Jewish news source site". Founded in 2009 it runs a Jewish Hall Of Fame adding new inductees every week:

Since the dawn of time, Jewish people have contributed greatly to various fields, from sports to entertainment to politics to porn. With our Breakthrough Jew feature, we recognize those who are up and comers in these various industries, identifying those great innovators and leaders in the contemporary world who are making a mark on society that will last a lifetime.

With the Jewish Hall of Fame, we recognize the remarkable advancements members of our community have made on today's society. These are people who have truly changed the world, and have earned the respect and praise of the members of today's younger generation.

ShalomLife’s Jewish Hall of Fame is our ongoing tribute to the greatest Jews who have ever lived.

And this week's inductee is none other that Donald Fagen. And here's a link to the sites page on him being inducted.

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Umeå Jazz Festival 2014 Guest of Honor: Mats Öberg!

We're happy to report that Radio Dupree favourite Mats Öberg has been announced as the Guest of Honor at this year's Umeå Jazz Festival in Sweden.
Here's a short clip of him at the piano with Jonas Knutsson during today's press junket.

In a radio interview he talked about early menmories of the festival. How he three years old went to see Sara Vaughn with his parents and he evetually played for the first of many times at the young age of 13.

Umeå Jazz Festival is 47 years old this year and runs October 21 - 27.

Check out some more Mats Öberg clips on YouTube!

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

New Pink Floyd album out on November 10

The new Pink Floyd album, The Endless River, will be released on November 10.
The album is dedicated to the band's keyboardist Rick Wright  (1943-2008). The recordings began in 1993 during the Division Bell sessions and the album is mainly instrumental.

Saturday, September 20, 2014

1970's hit machine pondering comeback


"Too poppy for prog rock, too glossy for heavy rock, too unstylish for glam rock and just way too over the top for punks."

Who are we talking about? Electric Light Orchestra and Jeff Lynne! Who according to this article in the Telegraph made a great return show and might be tempted to make a comeback.

Read more here:

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Pattie Boyd talks about the years with George Harrison and The Beatles

Here is a very nice interview with Pattie Boyd who was married to George Harrison and later Eric Clapton.
Last weekend she took part in the opening of an exhibition of her photos from that time. The exhibition can be seen at the Guitar Museum in Umeå, Sweden. Swedish radio did this nice interview with her:
Pattie Boyd signing posters and chatting with people.

Saturday, September 13, 2014

Peter Gabriel gets prog music award

The British artist Peter Gabriel has been honoured at the annual Progressive Music Awards for a music career that has spanned five decades.

Read more here - BBC News

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Rare find: Zappa/Varèse tape

A rare set of reel tapes featuring a 1981 tribute to composer Edgard Varèse, hosted by Frank Zappa, has been found in a vault in New Jersey, USA.
The concert featured Joel Thome's Orchestra of Our Time and was recorded at The Palladium, N.Y.C. on April 17, 1981.

Listen here!