Sunday, November 09, 2014

New-ish album from Doobie Brothers


The Doobie Brothers has just released Southbound, with guest musicians adding their talent to new versions of classic Doobie Brothers songs. A sort of Greatest Hits looking to attract new fans while entertaining the old ones.

The tracks:
Black Water with Zac Brown Band
China Grove with Chris Young
Jesus Is Just Alright with Casey James
Listen to the Music with Blake Shelton with Hunter Hayes on guitar
Long Train Runnin' with Toby Keith
Nobody with Charlie Worsham
Rockin’ Down the Highway with Brad Paisley
South City Midnight Lady with Jerrod Niemann
Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While) with Tyler Farr
Takin’ It to the Streets with Love and Theft
What a Fool Believes with Sara Evans
You Belong to Me with Amanda Sudano Ramirez of the band Johnnyswim with Vince Gill on guitar.

And, yes, Michael McDonald is back in the band for this album. Not part of the touring version though:

Guy Allison – Keyboards/Vocals
John Cowan – Bass/Vocals
Tom Johnston – Vocals/Guitar
John McFee – Guitar/Strings/Vocals
Tony Pia – Drums
Marc Russo – Saxophones
Pat Simmons – Vocals/Guitar
Ed Toth – Drums

No comments: