Sunday, August 17, 2008

Pink Floyd and Renée Fleming recieve the Polar Music Prize

Pink Fleming?

When The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by the late Stig Anderson, publisher, lyricist and manager of the succesful group ABBA, it was seen as aiming towards become a sort of Nobel Prize for music.
Each year two prizes are awarded; one popular and one more ... "serious".
And each year a number of critics in Sweden say that it's too predictable, to safe. That the committe should try to be more cutting edge. Surprise us.


On May 18 2009 it's time for the Polar Music Prize to be awarded once again, and the 2008 laureates have just been announced; the British group Pink Floyd and a the American soprano Renée Fleming.

Read the full citations here. You can also find more about the prize and who got it previous years.

No comments: