Wednesday, July 04, 2012

"New" Steely Dan Box Set for 2012

Already announced and/or released artists in the new box set series titled Classic Album Selection by Universal Music are artists like Elton John, Thin Lizzy, Soundgarden and Motörhead.

And now it looks like Steely Dan will get the Classic Album Selection treatment as well. Which basically consists of five or six albums in thin cardboard sleeves chucked into a sturdy box and served at a budget prize.
We found a somewhat fuzzy pic with a track listing on a couple of online record stores. No release date though.

The Steely Dan box set features the albums Countdown To Ecstasy (1973),  Pretzel Logic (1974), Katy Lied (1975), The Royal Scam (1976) and Aja (1977).
The groups 1972 debut Can't Buy A Thrill didn't make the cut.

No bonus tracks, no fancy booklets or other extras included. Let's say that the Classic Album Selection series seems to focus on the music. So no newly remastered versions of any of the albums as far as we understand.

No comments: