Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Peter Gabriel covers Bowie, Talking Heads, Lou Reed and more

Peter Gabriel's new one is titled Scratch My Back. On it he covers a bunch of personal favourites and here's the track listing:

01 "Heroes" (David Bowie)
02 "The Boy in the Bubble" (Paul Simon)
03 "Mirrorball" (Elbow)
04 "Flume" (Bon Iver)
05 "Listening Wind" (Talking Heads)
06 "The Power of the Heart" (Lou Reed)
07 "My Body Is a Cage" (Arcade Fire)
08 "The Book of Love" (The Magnetic Fields)
09 "I Think It's Going to Rain Today" (Randy Newman)
10 "Après moi" (Regina Spektor)
11 "Philadelphia" (Neil Young)
12 "Street Spirit (Fade Out)" (Radiohead)

It is supposed to be a "song swap", so we'll see these artists covering Peter's songs in return on a follow-up album.

More on the album over at Stereogum, where you also can hear one of the songs; Arcade Fire's My Body Is A Cage.

Even more to read + a video here.

Here's a link to a podcast where Peter Gabriel discusses his new album. Go listen!

We don't know about you, but we're more excited about this than we've been about the last few Gabriel albums.

1 comment:

Gina said...

ah, heard one of the tracks on radio yesterday and thought it was well balanced and all that... can't recall which song it is, but also very curious about the Listening Wind /Talking Heads song now..